Sanctions against Iran: US to lift exemptions for 8 countries

The Washington administration reinstated sanctions against Iran’s oil exports last November.

The majority of international sanctions in Iran had been lifted as part of the nuclear deal signed in Vienna in June 2015.

According to the deal, Iran agreed to drop the uranium enrichment program and international powers agreed to lift the sanctions in intervals.

US President Donald Trump argued that the 2015 deal signed by previous president Barack Obama favored Iran and decided to unilaterally withdraw from the agreement. The sanctions were thus reinstated.

Sanctions against oil exports, Iran’s main source of income, were also returned but an exemption was placed for 8 countries, China, India, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Turkey, Italy and Greece, where they were allowed 6 months to import oil without sanctions.

According to two sources of the Washington Post in the State Department, US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo will issue a statement on Monday and announce that the 8 countries’ exemption will end on May 2.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button